Course Designer "Optimize Detail"

Any PGA series discussion that doesn't fit in another forum.
masospaghetti
Weekend Duffer

Course Designer "Optimize Detail"

Post by masospaghetti »

I have made a few courses in PGA 99, I have a very difficult time completing a 18 hole course without getting errors due to too much course detail. I resorted to making 9 hole courses to work around this.

Is there a better solution to this? I just downloaded PGA 2000, any difference betwee 99 and 2000 in this regard?

Thanks!
SteveHorn
Legend of Golf

Re: Course Designer "Optimize Detail"

Post by SteveHorn »

masospaghetti
I never played PGA 1999. I can tell you that I started playing PGA 2000 in fall of 2003. I can't recall ever getting an error message saying to much detail and I always play 18 holes.
masospaghetti
Weekend Duffer

Post by masospaghetti »

Thanks for responding. I'm referring to building a course -- is that what you mean?
SteveHorn
Legend of Golf

Post by SteveHorn »

masospaghetti
Sorry about that. For some reason I thought you were referring to game play not architect design. I optimize everything on the lowest setting possible. Then when I start to get above 500,000, I start optimizing areas outside the course (Woods, basic overall rough outside of the regular rough) on the 2nd to lowest setting. I'll randomly check to make sure I didn't forget to optimize something after smoothing or whatever. Also, you should run the course repair during designing or when finished to remove all unnecessary points.
masospaghetti
Weekend Duffer

Post by masospaghetti »

Interesting! On one of my courses I have 317,000 points and 635,000 faces, I get the dialog box "You need to optimize detail by eliminating unnecessary terrain objects or by using the optimize detail tool."

Any idea why you can get to 500,000+ points and I cannot?
Jim Hall
Club Champion

Post by Jim Hall »